
 

 

Answers 

QA1 - The player gets two penalty strokes. 

Explanation 

There is no penalty for removing sand that lies on the putting green 

(Rule 13.1c), but the player gets the general penalty for improving their 

line of play by removing sand in the general area (see Rule 8.1a(4)). 

 

QA 2 - There is no penalty. 

Explanation 

See Rule 10.1a. In fairly striking at the ball the player may do so with 

any part of the head of the club. 

 

QA 3 - Either of the partners. 

Explanation 

See Rule 22.2. Either partner may take any allowed action for the side 

before the stroke is made, such as marking and lifting, replacing, 

dropping and placing the ball, no matter which partner's turn it is to play 

next for the side. 

 

QA 4 - False 

Explanation 

See Rules 14.1c and 4.2c. When a ball is lifted from a part of the course 

other than a putting green to see if it is cut or cracked, cleaning is not 

allowed. (Winter rules allow cleaning) 

 

QA 5 - There is no penalty. 

Explanation 



See Clarification Nearest Point of Complete Relief/4. Once the ball is 

dropped, it is back in play. The player must then decide what type of 

stroke they will make. This stroke, which includes the choice of club, 

may be different from the one that would have been made from the ball's 

original spot had the condition not been there. 

 

QA 6 - Correct Answer 

The player gets one penalty stroke and must replace the ball or ball-

marker. 

Explanation 

See Rule 9.7b.  

The player gets one penalty stroke and must replace the ball. 

 

QA 7 - There is no penalty. 

Explanation 

See Clarification of Loose Impediment/4. Gravel is a loose impediment 

and a player may remove loose impediments without penalty anywhere 

on the course under Rule 15.1. 

 

QA 8 - There is no penalty. 

Explanation 

See Definition of Advice. Advice does not include the location of things 

on the course. 

 

QA 9 - The player must abandon the original ball and continue play with 

the second ball played from the tee. 

Explanation 

If a player does not announce they are playing a provisional ball and 

plays a ball from where the previous stroke was made, that ball is the 

player’s ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (see Rule 

18.3b). 



 

QA 10 - False 

Explanation 

See Rule 14.1c. A ball lifted from a part of the course other than a 

putting green because it interferes with play must not be cleaned. 

(Except when winter rules (preferred lies) are in operation) 

 

QA 11 - False 

Explanation 

See Rule 15.1a. Loose impediments may be removed in any way (such 

as by using a hand or foot, using a club or other equipment). 

 

QA 12 - General penalty (two strokes or loss of hole). 

Explanation 

Before making a stroke at a ball in a bunker, a player must not touch 

sand in the bunker with a club in making the backswing for a stroke. 

(See Rule 12.2b(1)) 

 

QA 13 - There is no penalty. 

Explanation 

See Rule 13.1c. Damage on the putting green may be repaired without 

penalty by taking reasonable actions to restore the putting green to its 

original condition. 

 

QA 14 - In stroke play you should play “Ready Golf” when it is safe and 

responsible to do so. 

Explanation 

In stroke play, players may play “ready golf” in a safe and responsible 

way (see Rule 6.4b(2)). 

 



QA 15 - False 

Explanation 

See Rule 14.3c. A player has completed taking relief when a ball 

dropped in the right way comes to rest in the relief area. It does not 

matter whether the ball, after hitting the ground, accidentally touches any 

person before coming to rest. 

 

QA 16 - There is no penalty. 

Explanation 

See Clarification 3.3b/2. There is no penalty if initials were used to 

certify, rather than the full name. 

 

QA 17 - Player C gets two penalty strokes. 

Explanation 

See Rule 5.3a. As C arrived and was ready to play no more than five 

minutes late, instead of being disqualified, player C gets two penalty 

strokes for failure to be ready to play at the appointed start time. 

 

QA 18 - False 

Explanation 

See Rule 16.1a(2) There is no free relief from an immovable obstruction 

that lies out of bounds. 
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